• delicious

  • Fight World Hunger
  • Blog Archive

  • Categories

Social Media- Peers Help Spelling?

This morning I taught 2 year 7 pupils, one was late into school so I had some time 1-1 with Hanalise. I’ve just set up zondle logins for all my students so went through that first as an icebreaker. Every  now and then I check up how their High Frequency Words are coming on and they devise mnemonics or other ways of remembering tricky words. Just out of the blue I went over Hanalise’s check list and asked her to spell orally some she got wrong at the end of January/beginning of Feb, she scored 60/100 then. She spelled several correctly so I continued, at the end of the process I counted up how many she had correct of the ones that were incorrect lat time, she scored 94/100. I was intrigued but thought there has to be some reason that such a jump has been achieved.

I recorded this audioboo after listening to her explanation of why there was such a big jump in her score.

I was a bit under in my estimate of how many more she got right! I am always a bit skeptical about ‘test’ scores but her improved oracy and confidence (she was an elective mute in the past) and and inclination to participate has been quite something to behold. Obviously this is a snapshot incident, but it was exciting to witness her undoubted self-confidence in her newfound skills and also watching her imaginary ‘air- typing’ as she went through the process of remembering how to spell certain words.

Later in the day also, a year 9 became animated at the prospect that he could now blog from home as I set him up as a contributor to my Pupils’ Blogs. His comment? ‘oh,rather than writing on paper i’ts easier to write on keyboard’ < paraphrased, I did record his soundbite but mustn’t have saved it properly, doh!

An interesting day!

Leave a Reply

